Where’s that Theocracy now, beotches?

Posted: November 17, 2008 in BCWYAF, Celebrating Diversity, Christianity, Election 2008, Free Speech, LIEberals, Politics, Racism, Rants, Religion

For the better part of 8 years, the frothing fringe Truther crowd, the associated Code Pink nutjobs and other hangers-on have been pounding the table and swearing on a stack of Communist Manifestos that ol’ G.W. was hell-bent on setting up an oppressive Right Wing Dominionist Theocracy, complete with a modern krystalnacht rounding up gays, “free-thinkers”, atheists and a whole broad spectrum of other “dissenters,”  then stuffing them in a gulag like business commuters on a Tokyo subway.

Tick.  Tick.  Tick.  Aaaaannny second now…

Hmmm.  Didn’t happen.

So, that said, I have to ask.  George Bush was, by all accounts, a quietly devout Christian, who made no special note of his faith, but did not seek to hide or conceal it either.  But, because he was part of teh Right Winge Evil EmpireTM, he was held up as this terrifying bogeyman, who was just MOMENTS away from firing up another Grand Inquisition, burning heretics at the stake, both metaphorically and literally.

Barack Obama, on the other hand, spent 20 years of his adult life attending a radical, Bible-thumping(sorta), liberation theologist church, whose pastor has stated uniquivocally that Blacks needed to retake their country after years of oppression.  Where’s the outcry now?  Where are the shrill chest-clutchers and hyperventilators now carrying on about a burgeoning Christian Dominionist theocracy?  I guess that’s strictly the purview of the right wing?

Perhaps it is that Barack’s racial identity is so much stronger than his religious identity.  The fear among the conservative table pounders is not that he will attempt to impose his own particular brand of religious extremism, but rather, that his social and political ideology are the much more dangerous things to be feared.

I don’t know.  The problem with Mr. Obama is that no one is really sure WHAT he believes in.  He threw his own pastor under the bus and distanced himself from his long-time church home when it became politically expedient.  He distanced himself, nay, completely disavowed any association with Bill Ayers and all those friends of his youth who helped him get his political feet planted when they became a liability.  If B.O. is known for anything, it’s for dropping you like a hot freakin’ potato if you might stand in the way of his rise to power.

So, in essence, I think that this is what his detractors fear the most: not that he will use the power of his office to impose the will of God on the American people, but rather, that he will use the power of his office to impose the will of Barack Obama on the people.

And my fear is that there are just enough people out there who can’t tell the difference…or don’t wan’t to see a difference.

Be Careful What You Ask For (BCWYAF).

Comments
  1. Terra says:

    I wasn’t aware that Bush was supposed to be the monster on the other side. Sorry to hear that, I guess I didn’t have internet then so I didn’t see it? I would like to kick Bush, but it has nothing to do with his religious beliefs, it would be for the detrimental effect he has had on the rights that are give to the people of the US. The USA PATRIOT act makes me want to scream, and double that if he successfully gets through the new one that allows state governments to spy, with no evidence of criminal activity.

    However, it wouldn’t matter if the guy was a democrat or a republican… Take away my rights, and I get a bit testy…

  2. Steve B says:

    Keep in mind that Bush signed it, but congress wrote and passed it. That means enough Democrats had to be on board to get enough votes to ratify it.

    Politics is a dirty, nasty business.

  3. Kate says:

    Relatively new reader here & I just want to say how refreshing it is to read someone writing exactly what I think!

    Barack Obama has fooled millions of people & it’s going to be very interesting, I think, when they finally start realizing that, “Oh sh*t! This guy isn’t who we thought he was!” It’ll also be interesting to finally see what Obama’s agenda actually is (I suspect his church teachings of the Black Code ~ or whatever it’s called ~ will be front & center).

    Keep up the great posts!!!

  4. Terra says:

    I have to say, I love all opinions, it shows we have thought about things. However, let me say that when I read words like this “Barack Obama has fooled millions of people” it makes me feel upset. Just because I voted in a way you don’t understand, doesn’t mean I didn’t do my homework, and it doesn’t mean I was “fooled” it means that I came to a different conclusion.

  5. Terra says:

    Keep in mind that Bush signed it, but congress wrote and passed it. That means enough Democrats had to be on board to get enough votes to ratify it. Politics is a dirty, nasty business.

    I didn’t answer this one, meant to, got a bit off track up there. You are right, I agree with you on that completely. For me it isn’t a democrat – republican nor a liberal – conservative thing. I regularly for fun research Supreme Court cases, and if I have learned anything it is that neither completely fits me. At times I sound more liberal, but it is because I am more vocal about social liberal ideology, not that I am really more liberal. (Hopefully that makes some sense.)

    Politics is a dirty, nasty business with both sides making mistakes in my eyes (and sometimes in most peoples eyes.) It has nothing to do with partisanship. They make deals that are supposed to be “compromises” to make both sides happy, when sometimes in reality those compromises are extended to compromising themselves rather than compromising for the good of the country.

    I have strong feelings on some issues, and sometimes that is taken as a leaning to one side of the partisan spectrum – which is I guess fair. However, when it comes down to it I don’t necessarily want only whatever side of the issue I am on to have a say. I want all sides to be there, if that means George Bush in the White house, so be it. However, I am not of the mind that George Bush is a total failure, as most people I do tend to point out the things I think he did wrong, but he has done some good things as well. His actions with Africa being a huge one.

    Anyway, the point is I agree with you. I most likely come off a little rough, but I don’t totally laugh away opinions that don’t mirror my own. I try to look into them to see if I agree with them or not. Sometimes I learn interesting things about myself doing this. It happens to be one of the reasons I visit your blog. I may not agree with everything, and I am less likely to comment when I think you got it right, but I like to explore beyond my little world…

Leave a Reply

