Gilligans’s Island and suspension of disbelief

Posted: May 20, 2007 in Blitherings, Celebrities

My kids have gotten hooked on “Gilligan’s Island.”  We bought the three-box DVD set, and they’ve been burning through them like a crack junkie on meth.

 In the midst of my own nostalgia, wistfully harkening back to the days when I used to watch the show, through the lens of my 40 years of worldly experience, I’ve come to realize a few things:

  1. In the real world, about the 2nd or 3rd time Gilligan totally shot their chances for rescue by being a complete goober, the rest of the castaways would likely have staked him out in the sun and let the sand crabs have him.  At least set him  adrift on a bamboo raft with no water.
  2. I never really realized what a complete hotty MaryAnn is. Those hotpants?  Yeeow!
  3. I’m still trying to figure out why they brough all these clothes for a “three hour tour.”
  4. Even after eating nothing but coconut, pineapple, and the occasional fish for moths, the Skipper doesn’t lose an ounce of weight. I think he’s got a secret stash of ho-hos he’s not telling anyone about.
  5. I find myself wondering, in the real world, how long it would be before they started paring off with the two girls, and who the odd man out would be.  I suspect Gilligan, because like I said before, he would have been six-feet under pretty early on.
Comments
  1. kontan says:

    What a great show…that and I Love Lucy were favs.

  2. Okay first:

    How could you say such a thing about poor sweet innocent MaryAnn? I’m *shocked*! Shocked, I Say!

    Second: There were three women on the island. Just sayin’.

  3. Steve B says:

    Yeah, but I figure no one would be chasin’ after Ms. Howell. Eww.

Leave a Reply

