Resurrection Day

Posted: April 8, 2007 in Christianity

By way of an Easter post, and by that I mean Resurrection Day,  I would first like to post some links to articles I’ve written in the past, back when I had an active Internet devotional ministry.  Peruse at your lezshurrr…

Attention Shoppers! It’s Easter!

Easter and the Crucifixion – Part 1
Easter and the Crucifixion – Part II

Easter and the Crucifixion – Part III

It’s kind of difficult to decide what I should write about this day.  Easter has become a very specialized, very narrowly focused holiday.  It barely blips the public radar anymore, other than as an excuse for spring sales on summer dresses, the community easter egg hunt and maybe some free candy at the bank counter on Saturday.

My son asked me tonight, after watching an incredibly moving passion play at church this morning, does Easter celebrate the Crucifixion or the Resurrection?  The Resurrection, I say.

“So why didn’t we do anything three days ago for the Crucifixion?”

Whoa.  Great question.  More even than the birth of Christ, the crucifixion and resurrection of Jeshua, the Christ, defines and justifies our faith as Christians.   We carry on and on about the miracle of Jesus’ birth, an entire month or more dedicated to parties and celebrations loosely tied to the Christmas season.  Decorations and ornaments and lights adorn homes and businesses and billboards for weeks.

Yet, for the penultimate event of the Christian faith — the defining aspect which distills down the fundamental core of who and what we are as a Body in Christ — gets about a day. 

My son’s question has given me serious pause.  Why DON’T we do more with the day of Crucifixion?  And why isn’t the Day of Resurrection given more fanfare?

Perhaps it is because Christmas celebrates a birth.  Gifts, and celebration, and babies and seraphim and songs.  Great stuff. Fun stuff. Marketable stuff.  Something that just any ol’ body can get swept up in.

The crucifixion of a man who claimed to be God in human form, His subsequent resurrection, and the potentially disquieting aspects of this on our very personal and intimate lives is slightly less jubilant, a great deal more sobering, and decidedly less marketable.

Peace on Earth, Goodwill Toward Men” looks great on the cards and banners and wrapping paper.  “He bore our sins, to death, in agony, taking on the shame and guilt of the world” just doesn’t have quite the same ring to it.

This Resurrection Day, I am taking a hard look at my life.  I want to see what things I need to crucify, what things I need to put to death because they are keeping me from growing closer to God.  And then, I want to identify those things I need to resurrect, those once fervent desires to serve God, to commit my skills and gifts and talents to His service that perhaps I have allowed to grow fallow and dim from disuse.

My challenge to myself, and to you, is to live in the victory Christ secured for us on that cross, not continue to huddle in the darkness which sent Him to that tomb.

Comments
  1. Candy Rant says:

    Wonderful. And just what I needed at 2:30 in the morning. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

