Diet is just “Die” with a “t”

Posted: January 10, 2007 in Coffee, Random Thoughts

If you are serious about weight loss, then there is NOTHING in a vending machine that you can eat.  Any vending machine.  Period.

Part of my high-speed new diet is to not eat anything with high-fructose corn syrup, or anything with sugar in the first five ingredients.  Do you have any idea how hard it is to find stuff without high-fructose corn syrup?  It’s like walking into a dollar store and trying to find something not “Made in China.”  The stuff is everywhere!  It’s in Ketchup, for heaven’s sake!  Did you know spaghetti sauce has sugar in it?  Arrgh!

One of the hardest parts is cutting out alcohol and caffeine.  Alcohol interferes with the proper metabolization of food, as well as being a big bunch of empty carbs and calories.  Caffeine tends to hammer your blood sugar, and already being borderline hypoglycemic, I find that drinking very much coffee causes me to eat extra snacks/food to counteract the jitters.  Soooo..that’s gotta go, too.

I’m gonna be one serious caffeine withdrawlin’ mofo here for a week or so.  Best stay clear, as I suspect I’m gonna be a tad bitchy.

Comments
  1. kontan says:

    yes, the sugar thing sucks and that w/drawal headache is the pits

    good luck

  2. Joe says:

    I haven’t used sugar in my tea or coffee (both decaf) in years. You get used to it.

    Flavored water is pretty good too.

  3. Greg Todd says:

    I’m going through the same thing. I’ve been drinking several cans of Pepsi a day for years, and now I’m trying to lose 100 pounds and write about it online. Well, I’ve gone two days w/o Pepsi, and one w/o meat and sugar, and it’s rough.

    Hang in there!

  4. Steve B says:

    Keep up the good work! I don’t really drink beer all that much, so cutting out alcohol isn’t really a big deal. But I’ve been a two-cup in the morning coffee guy for years. Part of the difficulty is the comfortable routine. It’s familiar. That, and the caffeine addiction, of course.

  5. Cindy says:

    (Found you through Carin.) We gave up High Fructose Corn Syrup a little over a year ago, and yes, it’s in EVERYTHING. You’ve got to read all labels. I tend to shop the natural food stores now like Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s. Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

